Words of Wisdom: Rules Repetition

They know the morning routine on school days: get dressed, breakfast, brush teeth, shoes, jackets, out the door by 7:50. Yet they have to be repeatedly told to stay on course from the aimless wandering and other assorted distractions (the one that tends to rattle me is the bellowing conversations over their Cheerios while I’m busy making three lunches). I understand they’re 4, 5 & 8 and need regular “reminders” to FO-CUS but, man, how and when will the concept sink in to their little brains? In the interest of keeping things constructive, I’ll add an analytical takeaway: it’s pretty amazing a kid’s ability to shift gears from the seriousness of being disciplined to a minute later playing happily with a sibling. As adults, we could take a cue from this adolescent “ability” instead of dwelling or brooding over a disciplinary action and move on in a more rational manner (but I guess if we were capable of having the requisite patience, we’d all be teachers)…….

2 responses

  1. Jimmy Gormley | Reply

    Darrel – as one of my oldest friends (as in length of time, not necessarily in response to your age) you ask: “how and when will the concept (of FO-CUS) sink in to their little brains?” NE-VER!!! Well, maybe not never, but it will take a lot longer than you hope. As you know, my children are older than 4, 5, & 8, but not necessarily any wiser, even at 20 and 15 years old. In fact, as teenagers they either: 1.) have actually lost brain power and are not any smarter than when they were at 5 (or more accurately, want you to think that) 2.) continue to choose NOT to listen – yeah, believe it. I am certain they hear us, comprehend what we are asking (which is usually FOR them, i.e., a ride to school, the mall, a friends house, etc.) but probably think “man, I wish that old man would just quit talking at me. He’s getting on my nerves.” This is when you will hear any multiple of the following responses (or, possibly all in the same minute as your blood pressure continues to rise) the “sure, no problem woman” (yes, my daughter had recently found it hilarious to call me that, which lasted all of one time but it DID happen) or the “yeah, yeah I will” or the “just a second” or worse, no response at all which makes me sometimes wonder if what I thought was English these last 47 years has morphed into some kind of “dad don’t know nothing” foreign language that teenagers can’t understand – or again, want you believe that they can’t. One more thing: cherish this time in their lives when everything you say, or at least most of it, is BELIEVED by them and that even if you don’t know it, you are one of the WISEST men alive. Soon, that too shall change my friend. Peace from Chicago.

  2. Jimmy that was a classic commentary!

Leave a Reply

